Charitable status

The University of Manchester’s status as an exempt charity (exemption number: XR82062) is derived from the Charities Act 2011. We are responsible to the Office for Students, which is charged, as our principal regulator, with monitoring our compliance with charity law obligations.

The University is aware of its responsibilities as a charity to act for the public benefit and has had due regard to the Charity Commission’s public benefit guidance. The objects of the University, as set out in the Royal Charter awarded in 2004, are “to advance education, knowledge and wisdom by research, scholarship, learning and teaching, for the benefit of individuals and society at large".

Corporate documents

Download the University Charter (PDF document, 21KB) or visit our corporate documents page to download our full financial statements, up to and including the year ended 31 July 2021.

Trustees of the University

The trustees of the University as at 1 September 2022 were as follows:

Category 1, ex officio members (2) 

  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell,  DBE, DL, BSc, PhD, DSc, FRS, FMedSci, FRSB, FRCP(Hon), FRSA – President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Melody Stephen – General Secretary of the Students’ Union

Category 2, lay members (13) 

  • Edward Astle, MA, MBA (2022) – Chair
  • Ann Barnes BA (Hons), Diploma IHM (2023) – Deputy Chair
  • Gary Buxton, BA (Hons.), MBPsS, PCC, MBE (2024)
  • Deidre Evans (2023)
  • Nick Hillman, MA (2022)
  • Philippa Hird, MA (2024)
  • Caroline Johnstone, BA, CA (2023) 
  • Neil McArthur, MBE, CEng, FIMechE, FIET (2022)
  • Jatin Patel, MEng, BA (Hons) (2024)
  • Robin Phillips, BA (Hons) (2022)
  • Raoul Shah, BSc (Hons) (2024)
  • Richard Solomons BA (Econ) (Hons), ACA (2024)
  • Alice Webb M.Eng, Hon DA (2024)

Associate member

  • Natasha Traynor (2022)

Category 3, members of the Senate (6) 

  • Professor Claire Alexander, B.A. Hons, DPhil (2022)
  • Professor Danielle George, MBE, PhD (2022)
  • Dr Reinmar Hager MSc, PhD (2023)
  • Dr Eric Lybeck (2024)
  • Professor Paul Mativenga PhD, MSc, BEng Hons, FRSA (2024)
  • Professor Jim Warwicker, BSc, PhD (2023)

Category 4, members of staff other than academic or research staff (1) 

  • Ms Rosalyn Webster (2022)

Category 5, student member (1) 

  • Miguel Gonzalez-Valdes Tejero (2022) – Education Officer, Students’ Union

The following members of the Board of Governors have declared trusteeships as follows:

Professor Claire Alexander

Trustee and Vice Chair, Stuart Hall Foundation

Trustee of the Active Communities Network

Trustee of the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation

Mr Edward Astle

Trustee and Chair, UpREach

Trustee, CUC Executive Committee
Professor Danielle George Trustee, The Institution of Engineering and Technology 
Mr Nick Hillman Trustee, Nfer
Ms Philippa Hird Trustee, AQA
Dr Neil McArthur

Chairman, Trustee, Hamilton Davies Trust 

Chairman, Trustee, Manchester Tech Trust
Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell UK Biobank Limited, Trustee
Ms Melody Stephen Trustee Board Chair, University of Manchester Students’ Union
Mrs Alice Webb Trustee of the Royal Foundation of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge
Ms Rosalyn Webster Trustee, Burnage Academy for Boys

Contact us

The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL